It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to: My Partners

27 Aug

Where do I even start with this one?  I think the best way would be to say what I started out as and compare it to where I am now.

Knowledge:

4 years ago, I was a new pediatrician who knew everything…but didn’t really know all that much.  Fortunately, I came to a practice with partners whom I trusted enough to learn from, and I did.  It was clear from the beginning that questions and collaboration were encouraged in the practice, everyone was expected to share what they knew in order to make the practice better.  This, in turn, made me smarter.  Just like anything else, the further you get into something, the more you realize you don’t know as much as you thought when you started.  So, I know now I have a lot to learn and this will never change.

Compassion:

One thing about residency programs, especially at busy hospitals, is that you graduate having taken care of a lot of sick children.  This is great in order to help you learn how to handle even very sick babies but it can wear on you.  It’s not uncommon for new pediatricians to be burned out and have a lack of compassion for families.  I have been fortunate enough to have been modeled compassion for every family and their individual concerns.  Every doctor in my practice is able to take care of the sickest baby in the NICU and walk over and speak with compassion to a family that’s biggest concern is constipation.  This was difficult for me at first but I have learned how to do it over time and watching partners who are good at it has helped tremendously.

Trust:

Pediatrics is a 24/7 business and if you want to stay sane, you have to have partners who you trust to take care of your patients.  From day one, I felt comfortable passing off my patients to whomever was on call and my partners felt (at least seemed to feel) comfortable passing their patients on to me.  It didn’t come without some ribbing especially about my leaving my shirts un-tucked (that’s how I roll) and my long hair (especially from 2 of them…can you say jealous?) but the trust was there and that made me feel comfortable in my own skin.

Faith:

FInally, and most important, my partners live a life and run a practice built on faith.  Decision are made in a way that honors God by honoring those children who have been placed under our care.  Every decision is made with an understanding that the children have been placed under our care by their parents and the gravity of that responsibility is an important component to our decision making process every day.

Even though matching my current partners will be impossible, I pray that I will have partners in the future that will continue to spur me on to be the best doctor I can be!  I pray for continued success of Pediatric Associates in the days and years to come and that it will continue to be a thriving place that provide top-quality medical care to the children of Abilene!

2 Responses to “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to: My Partners”

  1. Greg Tuegel August 28, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    It has been a great 4 years. Excited for you and your family, sorry for us. But looking forward to a continued but different relationship as you expand your career to the big city. You have been such an asset to our practice and to Abilene. Thanks and God bless.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What to look for in a pediatrician… | Doc J Smitty's Wife - September 9, 2013

    […] 2)   Their team.  Are they practicing with other doctors who they can ask when they need help? Who will see you when your doctor is unavailable? Do you trust those doctors with your child, even for a single (most likely ill) visit? I have huge loyalty here because of how well Justin’s office treated us as a family, my kiddos and how they helped Justin develop from a baby pediatrician to one who is ready to practice and train others. You can read more here. […]

Leave a Reply

