Homemade Baby Food-An Example Food and Process

5 Apr

Here’s a meal I made recently that has been a big hit with little Hannah…

Sweet potatoes, spinach and chicken.

First, steam spinach using your vegetable steamer (should be less than $10) and boil sweet potatoes and chicken.

Image

Then, add the vegetables and chicken to the blender, along with some water. I use a Ninja, and I love it. It has three cups and this tall blender-like thing. The three cups come in handy when you’re making three separate dishes, particularly fruit because you can store it in the fridge when you don’t need to freeze it, and fruits are generally made in smaller quantities. I bought it at Sam’s and it was super cheap; don’t buy the super expensive one unless you’re planning on having a small army of children, or if you’re opening a smoothie company from your kitchen.

See the water line there? I added more as the blender was working. For some reason, I always add the spinach at the very end. Probably because I always forget that I need to add it, so it’s always last to finish.

photo 2-1

Cubed chicken in the blender, ready to go! Always put the most difficult thing to puree in first so it gets the most blending.

photo 2-2

Here’s the sweet potatoes and chicken blended together!

Then, I spoon this out into my favorite baby-making-food find, Baby Cubes. I know that there are other products like this, but I love these. They are BPA free so they can be microwaved if you’re in a pinch, and have a lid attached so you can easily take them with you if you’re a fan of eating out. They have a fill line so I don’t have to measure when I’m tired, and they have trays that stack so nicely in our freezer! They go in the dishwasher and I just love them! No, they don’t pay me to say this; they probably don’t even know I exist! But, I love these. I tried another brand that had lids that were separate and didn’t use them twice. I love the Baby Cubes and we’re now working on our third time through them!

photo 3-2

Here you go! 23 servings for about $7.00!

I also label my food because I want to make sure I know what’s what (for allergy purposes) and when it was made (for anti-grossness purposes…who wants to eat food that’s seven months old…and why are you still feeding your baby pureed food seven months after you made it???). This is where I regularly employ the help of my husband. He’s a great label sticker!

See…

photo 4

I’m sure I’ve left off so many details, and this is in no way in inclusive list of the food you can make your baby. Please let us know if you have any questions, and I’ll be sure to let you know if I come up with any new recipes!

Lastly, you may have different opinions than we do about when and how and what to feed your baby. The first person who told me to start cereals and baby foods was our pediatrician, who happens to not be the father of my children/my husband. Now, my husband shares the opinion of their pediatrician, but he chooses to not be doctor and dad. So, when we started baby foods, I asked his opinion and wanted his input, but he wasn’t the first one to tell me to start! I trust my husband completely; after all, he has to raise and live with these kids with me.  But, if you’re about to start baby foods, please talk to your doctor about it. Just get his or her input, because you’ve trusted this doctor with the care of your baby and he or she should be consulted when you’re about to give anything other than breast milk or formula. Yes, even for water! If you disagree with your doctor, respectfully say so and bring your evidence, and expect an honest and open dialogue about what you’re planning on doing. No, this blog post doesn’t count as evidence. It’s just a resource about how to make baby food for those of you who haven’t done it before. Thanks so much for indulging me. If you have my phone number, text or call me with your questions. If you’re lucky enough to have my wonderful husband as your child’s doctor, ask him about whatever you have and, if it’s about food prep, he’ll ask me. If neither of those things is true, thanks for stopping by, and post your questions or comments…or just ask your doctor. Or start using my husband as your doctor! If you trust him enough to read the blog posts, you’ll love him as your doctor. He’s truly a gifted physician and I love him; he’s a great dad who cares about what we put in our kids’ mouths and bodies. And it’s refreshing to be married to a man that cares!

This is the 3rd post of 3 in a series about how we made our own baby food for our little ones.

To see the other posts, click the links below…

1) Making Baby Food-Not Only for Granolas

2) Homemade Baby Food-What I Made and How I Made It

3) Homemade Baby Food-An Example Food and Process

4 Responses to “Homemade Baby Food-An Example Food and Process”

  1. A Haaland April 25, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Thank you so much for writing these- I really enjoyed reading them! Always nice to get new ideas for different foods.
    One question- Do you use plain yogurt due to the fact that others have added sugar?

    • jrsmith120880 April 25, 2013 at 10:12 am #

      Yes, we use plain typically greek yogurt and add our own fresh fruits…I’ll pass on the thanks to Mrs Doc Smitty also!

  2. Amanda May 30, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Did y’all ever feed egg yolk? I was thinking of trying it mashed up with a little breastmilk for consistency purposes…

    • jrsmith120880 May 31, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

      We didn’t but I have hard time getting over the “don’t feed egg before 1 year” message that I used to give out. Recently, that recommendation has been question so I say, “Go for it.”

Leave a Reply

